Limcom Agreement

The opening ceremony took place from February 28 to March 1, 2019 at the Grand Palm Hotel Casino and Convention Resort, Grand Palm Hotel Casino and Convention Resort. The agreement to promote groundwater cooperation in the Limpopo watershed was consolidated by an earlier agreement between the LIMCOM secretariat and the Groundwater Management Institute (SADC-GMI) of the South African Development Community (SADC) in December 2018. Article 2 of the agreement stipulates that the Commission has the legal personality to conclude agreements and contracts and that it is recognized in the legal orders of the parties. The Limpopo watershed is shared by four CDAA member states, namely the republics of Botswana, Mozambique, South Africa and Zimbabwe. The requirement for riparian countries to collaboratively manage the basin`s water resources dates back to 1986, when the Limpopo Basin Permanent Technical Committee was jointly established. In 2003, this framework for cooperation was promoted by the multilateral agreement establishing the Limpopo Watercourse Commission (LIMCOM), with the aim of „advising the parties in the use of Limpopo, its tributaries and waters for the purposes and protection, conservation and management of Limpopo“ (LIMCOM 2003). The revised CDAA Protocol on Common Waterways, signed on 7 August 2000, aims to promote closer cooperation towards rational, sustainable and coordinated management of the protection and exploitation of common waterways, as well as to promote the CDAA`s programme for regional integration and poverty reduction. This protocol came into force in 2003. The protocol calls for the establishment of institutions for watersheds, such as watershed commissions, common water commissions and water-sharing agreements. The proposal is expected to be submitted electronically to Mr Sergio Sitoe on 1 May 2020 with Mr Sergio Sito e. The proposal should contain the technical and financial proposals: in this context, states bordering the Limpopo River watershed, including Botswana, Mozambique, South Africa and Zimbabwe, the agreement to establish the Limpopo Watercourse Commission (LIMCOM) signed in 2003, including advising Member States and making recommendations on the use of Limpopo, its tributaries and waters for the purposes and protection, conservation and management of the river.

Structurally, the LIMCOM Council is the Commission`s highest body. In order to fully fulfil his mandate, the Executive Secretary decided on 30 November 2011 to establish a secretariat in accordance with Article 4.2 of the LIMCOM agreement, in accordance with Article 4.2 of the LIMCOM agreement, to assist in the implementation of Council decisions. Once in place, the secretariat should serve as a point of contact for the Work of the Commission and provide administrative assistance and assistance to the secretariat. Article 4 sets out the institutional provisions of the Commission, which consists of the Council as the primary body and a secretariat for the implementation of the agreement. Article 9 addresses the issue of dispute resolution and emphasizes the importance of negotiations for a solution. The parties may refer a dispute to the CDAA Tribunal if the parties have not been able to reach an agreement six months after the start of negotiations. Contracting parties are required to accept the Tribunal`s decision as final and binding.